Skip to navigation

Mark Moxon's Software Archaeology and Writing

Contact Me: Guestbook

Robert

Subject: Am I crazy?
Posted: 14 Mar 2017 5:36 pm

Afternoon Mark,

I hope this finds you well!

I'm writing because for some time now I've had this idea of taking the LEJOG walk - mainly because once I set myself a challenge it intrigues me and haunts me until it's done.

What's holding me back is, I've never done anything of this magnitude before. I'm a fair camper, making trips at least once a year, and when living in London I saved money most days by walking to wherever I needed to be... But all of that does not a Walker make.

Am I crazy for contemplating such a challenge without building up to it first? I'm quite a risk-taker in general, often putting myself in scenarios that seem uncertain or new to me - but that's usually restricted to trying a different brand of tea or taking a backwards-facing seat on the train.

Driving the trail would be enough of an achievement and here I am considering walking it?

I guess, the real question is, what should I be doing in the run-up to it? Here we are in March, I have quite a busy year ahead so probably looking at doing the walk next year. What can I be doing or what should I be aiming for before really attaching myself to something of this scale?

Any suggestions would be gratefully received.

Robert

PS I was so relieved to come across your site, most people I've mentioned my idea to have practically hurled me under a bus at the mention of something so extreme. But here I am, sat in my temp job, pretending to be on the phone so I can send this message, hoping that 2018 might bring me my biggest achievement to date.

Post a Reply

Mark Moxon

Subject: Crazy LEJOG
Posted: 24 Mar 2017 5:03 pm

Hi Robert.

No, you are not crazy at all. You have a year before you're planning to do the walk, and that's plenty of time to do all the planning and to get ready. Here's what you need to think about doing.